SPoT Skate Shop at Skate Park of Tampa

A Tampa Pro Primer

To understand the significance of Tampa Pro, look no further than the list of skaters that have won it, starting with Mike V in 1995, followed by Eric Koston the following year, then Andrew Reynolds, and on and on. Tampa Pro has been a staple event for so long that nearly every pro has skated it, and it’s famous for being the rare contest that even “non-contest skaters" are down for. In 2023 the most iconic pro event in the world will be celebrating its 29th anniversary, making it the longest held tradition in skateboarding. If you’re able to attend you’re stoked, if not, you can tune in to the live webcast and at least pretend you’re there.

Who Can Skate It

Professional skateboarders who have [or had] a pro model signature board with an internationally recognized brand.


[All prior Tampa Pro winners are prequalified to Semi-Finals]
  • Skaters are separated into heats of roughly 15 to 20 skaters
  • Each skater gets 2 one-minute runs, their best run counts
    • Top 30 advance
      • The top 2 qualifiers get a Straight Shot to Finals
    • 3rd through 30th advance to Semi-Finals

Semi Finals
  • 28 skaters from Qualifiers joined by prior Tampa Pro winners
  • Skaters are separated into two heats of roughly 15 to 20 skaters
  • Each skater gets 2 one-minute runs, their best run counts
    • Top 10 advance to Finals

  • 12 skaters
    • Two Straight Shot winners from Qualifiers
    • Top 10 from Semi-Finals
  • Each skater gets 3 one-minute runs, their best run counts


Judging has elements of the objective and the subjective. Tampa Pro uses a five-judge panel of skaters that have deep roots and the respect of the skateboarding industry. Many of our judges are former pros. Using a 100 point scale, judges assign scores based on the following factors: difficulty of tricks, style, technique, variety of tricks, use of course, flow, consistency, originality, and whatever else a skater can bring to their run. The high and low scores are dropped, the remaining three scores are averaged to determine a final score. Second run scores are used to break any ties.  


In addition to the winner earning a substantial payday, they will also have the distinction of being included on the list of all time winners.

Previous Winners

1995 - Mike Vallely
1996 - Eric Koston
1997 - Andrew Reynolds
1998 - Andrew Reynolds
1999 - Gershon Mosley
2000 - Kerry Getz
2001 - Kyle Berard
2002 - Eric Koston
2003 - Tony Trujillo
2004 - Bastien Salabanzi
2005 - Dennis Busenitz
2006 - Greg Lutzka
2007 - Eric Koston
2008 - Greg Lutzka
2009 - Greg Lutzka
2010 - Paul Rodriguez
2011 - Dennis Busenitz
2012- Torey Pudwill
2013 - Luan Oliveira
2014 - Nyjah Huston
2015 - Luan Oliveira
2016 - Shane O’Neill
2017 - Louie Lopez
2018 - Jagger Eaton
2019 - Carlos Ribeiro
2020 - Nyjah Huston
2021 - Shane O'Neill
2022 - Jamie Foy